First Date! A New Era Begins

Went on date #1 today with a guy I met on match.com, we’ll call him The Cyclist.  The date was very low key and I intentionally kept it short.  I have a bad habit of drinking too much on a first date and making out with the guy.  As a result  I am usually left wondering if there actually was chemistry or if I was just drunk.

 In honor of fresh starts and not repeating the same mistakes, I proposed an afternoon date.  He sugggested coffee at a cool coffee shop near my house:

Conversation was easy and an hour and a half passed before I knew it.  I was impressed right away by the fact that he appears to be a grown up with grown up aspirations (has a career, looking to buy a home etc.).  It was a refreshing change to have a conversation with a real adult and reminded me of all of the reasons Ex-Boyfriend was not the magical unicorn I thought he was. 

The Cyclist grew up near me, and it turns out we know a lot of the same people.  As an added bonus, he was better looking in person than he was online.   The date ended a bit awkwardly, what does one do at the end of a first date in the afternoon?   There was no hug (thank god – awkward first date hugs goodbye are no good at all) or kiss, but some conversation about getting together again soon.  My expectations are quite low (years of dating has turned me into a bit of a cynic), but I would love to hear from him again. 

In the meantime, I have a date cooked up on Wednesday with another match.com suitor, World Traveler, plans for yoga and an art show with friends, AND it is time for me to get back to work tomorrow after the gloriousness of a two week vacation.   Stay tuned for updates!

~ by cleanslate2010 on January 4, 2010.

Leave a Reply

 
