A Wink Is Not A Contract

I received a somewhat hostile email from a dude on match.com today:

Thanks again for the wink, but please disregard any interest I expressed. I’d like to make sure I’m not just one guy among a few dozen that you winked at but didn’t really read about. I log in once a day and you’ve been online recently every time. Not wanting to be a contingency plan, and a wink to me means you want me to do something. I did that and am not seeing the turnaround I want.

I’m not mad; just making every precaution to put myself around women with genuine interest in me who show it through action.

 
Wow!  I’ve never had an angry email from someone I never met before!  I received an email from him a few days ago and hadn’t responded yet.  Now I’m glad I didn’t!  Apparently a ‘free wink’ is something this dude really takes to heart.  I though it was something you sent if you thought someone looked cute in their photo! 
Some other updates:
The cyclist I went out with last weekend, has emailed me a few times, but not asked me out on a date.  Strange.  You would think he would either ask me out, or not contact me at all.  Boys confuse me.
I had a date with a climber guy tonight.  He was intelligent and interesting and suggested brats and beer at one of my favorite pubs.  All good things.  He seemed a little serious for my taste, but made a couple of funny jokes at the end of the evening that made me laugh.  Definite potential.  The only weird thing is that his ex-girlfriend is someone I know.  Not someone i’m friends with, but I know who she is.  When did Seattle get so small?

~ by cleanslate2010 on January 9, 2010.

4 Responses to “A Wink Is Not A Contract”

  1. WTF?! Weirdo.

  2. I wanted to reply with, “Please disregard any interest I expressed because it sounds like you’re a DICK”.

  3. On the plus side, you didn’t have to actually waste time going on a date with the guy to realize he has some serious anger (and stalker-esq) issues going on. He just puts them right out there on match for you, some women may have had to date him for months before coming to this conculsion.

    I just thought of a great feature match should add, review feedback (visible only to members of their dating pool), so women can warn others of the crazies. Like on Amazon, that way if the product is not as represented others could determine their next steps.

  4. oh my gosh, Jess and I were talking about that recently. That there should be some sort of date/boyfriend review site. I could write something about my ex-boyfriend like, “super if you’re just looking for a good time, but steer clear if you are looking for a serious relationship!”.

Leave a Reply

 
