Awkward

I was headed out on a date the other night, driving to a neighborhood pub, when it dawned on me that I didn’t actually know the name of the dude I was meeting up with. 

We’d been emailing back and forth for a couple of weeks and he always signed his notes ‘-M’.  His match.com profile username wasn’t an actual name, and I couldn’t remember seeing a first name anywhere.  It was kind of a low point if you ask me, knowing i’d agreed to go out on a date with a guy whose name I didn’t know.  

Anyway – our date went fine, I avoided using his name the entire time.  I thought maybe he’d use a credit card to pay and i’d spot his name then, but he paid with cash.  Eventually after digging through emails later that night, I did find his name and was relieved.  In the future I suppose I ought to figure these things out, before meeting up.

~ by cleanslate2010 on January 10, 2010.

4 Responses to “Awkward”

  1. You knew what he looked like, right? That’s more important anyway 😉 As long as his name isn’t Llewelyn, or something like that.

  2. Oh, god! I could see how that might happen. And in that situation you gotta ask right at the beginning of the date or never. Glad it finally got cleared up. Don’t you love dating?

  3. anna – i did know what he looked like from his photos, so at least i spotted him right away at the bar and didn’t have to go around asking “are you my date?” and not even having a name to give. and thankfully his name wasn’t Llewelyn 😉

    norma – i need to pay more attention on match.com. honestly, last week i didn’t remember which guy was which so i found myself asking awkward questions that went something like “so you’re into soccer (blank stare in reply. . .), i mean rock climbing?”. guys might dig me more if i paid attention to their basic likes/dislikes :/

  4. Now THAT’S hilarious! And I thought I was bad — usually when I’m meeting a date for the first time, I’ll repeat their names in my head as I’m en route to meet them, as a reminder: “Mike… Mike… Mike”.

Leave a Reply

 
