Writing Contest!

I used to hate Valentines Day.  Ex-boyfriend and I spent one Valentines Day in Paris, and broke up at the end of the trip.  And that was one of my good Valentines Days.  These days I love it.  You would not believe the amazing things you get for Valentines Day when you are a grade school teacher.  Grown men could learn a lot about how to treat a girl, from the boys in my kindergarten and third grade class.  I have gotten flowers, chocolates, homemade cards with sparkles and Disney Princesses and even thoughtful items like soup and herbal tea.

In honor of Valentines Day, I am hosting a writing contest.  Almost everyone I know has a memorable Valentines Day story, ranging from horrifying to ridiculous to amazing.  Send your best Valentines Day story to teriscleanslate2010@gmail.com.  (no more than 300-500 words) on or before February 5, 2010.  I will post the best stories here, AND I will send (as long as you live in the continental United States) a valentine and a box of chocolates to the writer of my favorite story.   I will notify you if I pick your story, so that you can forward me a mailing address for the chocolates.  I promise they will arrive on time for Valentines day.

Keep in mind that as a single girl, I will probably be more impressed by stories that are hilarious or embarrassing or horrible or weird, than romantic stories about true love.  There is nothing wrong with true love, except that it is currently missing from my life, so try not to rub it in my face 😉

Happy writing, I am excited to hear some of your stories.

~ by cleanslate2010 on January 28, 2010.

4 Responses to “Writing Contest!”

  1. Just telling you right now… I am not going to write about this because it doesn’t inspire me at all… but my ONLY Valentine’s day story is my last ex breaking up with me completely out of the blue on VD. Not that I was getting ready to celebrate, but I was really planning to spend my life with him. *sigh* I don’t like holidays in general but this one REALLY NOT. Please eat a piece of chocolate for me.

    • I am so sorry to hear that your ex broke up with you on VD. That is awful. I will eat a piece of chocolate for you, and I hope this years VD is better than years before.

  2. What a great idea! I’m not sure if I have any memorable stories, but I’ll try to think of something!

    • I have to do SOMETHING with all the Godiva chocolates my students give me! Otherwise i am going to keep getting chubbier and chubbier! I am still working through chocolates from Christmas.

Leave a Reply

 
