Ghosts of Dates Past – Meeting the Parents

I’ve been obsessively watching the Olympics the last few days.  Watching the skiing events in Whistler, reminds me of the only time I’ve been to Whistler. 

Back in twenties, my boyfriend at the time  invited me there for a weekend with his family.  I was very excited.  I hadn’t met his family yet but I had heard a lot about them.   We were going to drive up on our own, and meet them at the condo. 

We got off to a late start after work on Friday, and by the time we made it into Canada it was getting really late.  We snuck into the condo and headed into our room.  We were staying in the kids room; the one with two twin beds.  Being in our 20s and in a fairly new relationship, we weren’t about to sleep in separate beds, so we stripped down to our underwear and jumped into one of the beds. 

I am not a morning person.  I can get up early if I need to, but I don’t like talking to anyone until I’ve had a hot cup of coffee.   That said, I was NOT happy when around 7:30am, I was forced out of my deep sleep when my boyfriend’s mom, dad, sister and brother-in-law, burst into the room, jumped on the bed and started tickling us.  TICKLING US!  I was in my underwear!  I was very awkwardly trying to pull the sheet up under my chin and was horrified when my boyfriend started laughing and jumped into the tickle fight.

Apparently, this was my boyfriend’s family tradition.  If you were the last one asleep, the family would come in and tickle you to wake you up.   I had the opportunity to clue my boyfriend in on how I felt, when we were off on our own later that day.  He didn’t understand why I was bothered.  Maybe because he should have warned me?  Maybe because I would have slept in a different bed?  Maybe because I would have probably worn actual pajamas if I knew his family was going to join us in bed in the morning?   My boyfriend at the time really was a bit clueless and inexperienced so I really don’t think it occurred to him to tell me.  After my screaming fit, I imagine he hasn’t made the same mistake again with other girlfriends. 

To date, that is the most awkward “meet the family” situation I have ever had.   I will never sleep in my underwear at a boyfriend’s parent’s house again!

~ by cleanslate2010 on February 16, 2010.

2 Responses to “Ghosts of Dates Past – Meeting the Parents”

  1. Oy! Awful! what a very peculiar family! Good riddance….

  2. Crazy… but hey, makes for a great story!

Leave a Reply

 
